7th week of 2014

On Friday after college, 2 thirds of LightPhonics (Ollie and I) went to the Lake District for a 5 day Photography trip.

The next morning, we set off to Stock ghyll waterfalls, whilst it was raining. After that,  we did a walk up to High Sweden Bridge. It was raining most of the way up , but it stopped and cleared just as we reached it. I dropped into the stream, wading in my wellies. I set up a 3 stop Nd filter with a polariser underneath so that I could cut out some water reflection, to see the rocks under the water.
DSC_8217

The next day, we drove to Derwent Water to climb up the Cat bells trail. It was a steep path and difficult to climb whilst carrying a camera and tripod, and nearer the top we had to do some proper climbing, scrambling up the rocks with our hands. I couldn’t stop looking over my shoulder as I climbed, at the incredible view of the lake low behind me. Luckily for me the wind was strong, so I stuck on my 10 stop filter, and did some 3 minute exposures to blur the clouds. However, the wind was also insanely cold – and if you know me then you’ll know I  don’t say that easily!

This first shot I just wanted to show this ridge, along with the rough foreground. It’s almost unedited apart from a touch of clarity in Lightroom. I love the rich colours long exposures provide, and I’m lucky that my filter doesn’t give a colour cast. if you’re trying to find a 10 stop nd filter, heres the one I have. It’s flawless for me, perfectly sharp and absolutely neutral.

DSC_8610

Once we reached the very top, we were greeted with a 360 degree view, and looking over the back of the mountain you could see mountains going on as far as you could see. The low sunlight highlighted each mountain ridge, and gently lit the valley’s in-between. Including a lot of the sky exaggerated the moving clouds.

DSC_8604

Jamie

2 thoughts on “7th week of 2014

Leave a Reply

