3rd week of 2014

I said I’d try harder this week, and I really did:

On Saturday I went on another wildlife hunt, but this time I was well rewarded: lots of ducks and a few other birds hanging around by the river.

What I liked about this first picture is that it has a strong street photography feel to it, due to the gritty wall, the soft light and the black and white conversion; yet it’s different because where you’d normally have a person, there’s a duck instead. Also, the duck is looking round, like a person curious about the person photographing them. The ducks eyes looking straight at the lens engage the viewer, and they create a captivating focal point.
DSC_6647-2

 

 

The next day, I set my alarm for 6.00 AM to get up for a sunrise at Beacon Hill, Hampshire. It was muddy climbing up the hill, and in the dark it made it even harder. After only falling over once, we made it to the top, where it was freezing cold and windy. Waiting for the sun to rise, I explored the hill, guessing where would look the best at certain times to prepare myself for the sun rise. There was already some colour in the sky, so I started taking some pictures with exposure bracketing – I prefer this than HDR or recovering tones from one raw file as it lets you blend everything to exactly how you want it – without losing or creating grainy areas.DSC_6871-Edit

All this mist started rolling in (above), covering the land below. This started catching the low light, glowing orange slightly. This was one of the locations I found earlier, and liked because the path and fence draw your eye to the sky, then the eye goes left to explore the mist and sky.

As I was waiting for a new scene for appear, I spotted this post reflecting the golden light, the bumps in the ground also slightly lit up, and long shadows brushed all over the hill.

DSC_6853-Edit

Finally, as the sun got slightly higher, long shadows were cast across the fields, misty haze sitting in the valleys, and the early light giving everything a surreal golden glow. The trouble I encountered was the wind made my tripod wobble, meaning I had to keep my shutter speed shorter than I would have liked – meaning compromises on ISO and aperture.

DSC_6912

 

Jamie

Leave a Reply

