27th week of 2013

27
For the first time ever I actually took the photo on the first day of the week; and I also got to do something I’ve been longing to do for a year, but I’ve been too scared to do it all this time: Steel wool photography. If you’ve not heard of this before, I’d recommend checking out this video:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LJkBLMhXvcQ . Basically, I just attached a whisk to a rope and stuck a wad of steel wool in the whisk. Then, I headed outside, lit the wool with a lighter and spun it around, and it releases sparks everywhere.

Some tips for this:
– Stick your camera on a tripod, I found that ISO 200, f/8 and 30” seemed to work well, but you’ll want to experiment.
-Put your camera quite far away – no closer than about 15 meters to where you’re spinning
-Use a UV filter, some people have had molten wool spark off and stick to the front of your lens, which could cost a lot to repair.
-Wear all black – this will mean that you’re less likely to get picked up on the camera’s sensor.
– Wear a hat and cover yourself fully – a lump of molten steel wool will hurt if it hits your skin
– Do it after it has rained – less likely to start a fire
– Take a fire extinguisher or a blanket to stop any mini fires

For this shot, I put the camera way too close, didn’t have a filter, didn’t have an extinguisher, even though I ignored all my own advice I was ok, and got a result that was much different to the hundreds of these types of pictures. I love the bouncing sparks all around, but I’m not sure this was worth the risk!

DSC_2760

Be safe!

Jamie

Leave a Reply

